The legislature is responsible for law making, oversight and public participation. These responsibilities include, amongst others:
• developing and adopting policies, plans and strategies; consideration of matters reserved for Council and approval of By-Laws;
• monitoring and reviewing the actions of the executive; proactive interaction with the executive and the administration, as well as monitoring of compliance with the constitutional obligations by the executive and the administration;
• ensuring participatory governance by building relationships with communities, involving and empowering communities to enable meaningful participation.

The legislature is made up of Council, the Speaker of Council, Chief Whip, and two sets of Council committees - Section 79 Portfolio committees and Standing committees.

Cllr Patricia Kumalo
Cllr Patricia KumaloSpeaker of Council
Cllr Jongizizwe Dlabathi
Cllr Jongizizwe DlabathiChief Whip
Cllr Nozipho Mabuza
Cllr Nozipho MabuzaChairperson of Chairpersons
Motshedi Lekalala
Motshedi LekalalaSecretary of Council

Oversight Committee Chairpersons

Cllr Godfrey Ngubeni
Cllr Godfrey Ngubeni Finance
Cllr Peter Mokhethoa
Cllr Peter Mokhethoa Economic Development
Cllr Dino Peterson
Cllr Dino Peterson Infrastructure Services
Cllr Stenias R Mashala
Cllr Stenias R Mashala Transport Planning
Cllr Connie Mashigo
Cllr Connie Mashigo Water, Sanitation and Energy
Ald Phelisa Nkunjana
Ald Phelisa Nkunjana Human Settlements
Ald Izak Berg
Ald Izak Berg Community Safety
Cllr Nomadlosi Nkosi
Cllr Nomadlosi Nkosi Health and Social Services
Cllr Sivuyile Ngodwana
Cllr Sivuyile NgodwanaSport, Recreation, Arts and Culture (SRAC)
Cllr Jane Nhlapo-Koto
Cllr Jane Nhlapo-Koto Environment and Waste Management Services
Cllr Zweli Yende
Cllr Zweli Yende Corporate and Shared Services
Cllr Phumzile Phasha
Cllr Phumzile Phasha City Planning

Standing Committee Chairpersons

Ald Patricia Kumalo (Speaker)
Ald Patricia Kumalo (Speaker) Rules & Programming
Ald Nozipho Mabuza
Ald Nozipho Mabuza Committee of Chairpersons & PPP
Cllr Morris Chauke
Cllr Morris Chauke Ethics and Integrity
Cllr Anastasia Motaung
Cllr Anastasia Motaung Gender, Children, Youth & Person's with Disability
Ald Dimakatso Sebiloane
Ald Dimakatso Sebiloane Municipal Public Accounts
Cllr Sizakele Masuku
Cllr Sizakele Masuku OCMOL