Public Notices


In terms of the Spatial Planning and Land Use management Act, 2013 read together with the Municipal Systems Act, 2000 Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality hereby calls upon the members of the public, affected departments and organs of state in the three spheres of government, and all other stakeholders to participate in the process of drafting the By-law for Spatial Planning and Land Use Management.

The By-law will apply to the entire area within Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, thus binding everyone residing, occupying land/property, property/business owners and any person responsible for any land use activity within Ekurhuleni including the state.

The By-law is developed in order to provide processes, procedures and systems that the municipality must employ when dealing with spatial planning, land development and land use management matters. The By-law further provides for Law enforcement, engineering services and other related matters.

Commenting period:

The Draft By-Law will be opened for inspection from the 10 March 2017 until the 28 April 2017. Copies of the Draft By-law will be available for perusal at the Customer Care Areas and municipal libraries. No late comments will be considered.

Submission of comments:

Written comments and representations can be forwarded to: and Alternatively posted to the City Planning Department, at PO Box 13, Kempton Park, 1620 or Hand delivered to City Planning Offices (Customer Care Areas) or City Planning Corporate Office at Markham Building, Cnr. Margaret Avenue and Kempton Road, Kempton Park.

Enquiries: Mr Milton Mogapi (011) 999 4784 or

A copy the proposed draft By-law may be inspected during ordinary office hours at the following municipal offices or by obtaining an electronic copy from the official website address for the Municipality:


(a)      Office of the Executive Manager: Community Participation and Education, Office 173A, 1st  Floor, EGSC Building, corner Cross and Rose Streets, Germiston.

(b)    The following Libraries:

Bedfordview Library, Birchleigh Library, Birchleigh North Library, Bonaero Park Library, Edenvale Library, Kempton Park Library, Olifantsfontein Library, Phomolong Library, Primrose Library, Tembisa Library, Tembisa West Library, Winnie Mandela Library, Alberton Library, Boksburg Library, Bracken Library, Dinwiddie Library, Edenpark Library, Elsburg Library, Germiston Library, Isaac Mokoena Library, Katlehong Library, Leondale Library, Palm Ridge Library, Reiger Park Library, Spruitview Library, Thokhoza Library, Vosloorus Library, Zonkizizwe Library, Actonville Library, Alra Park Library, Bakerton Library, Benoni Library, Brakpan Library, Daveyton Library, Duduza Library, Dunnotter Library, Geluksdal Library, H P Mokoka Library, Jerry Moloi Library, Kwa-Thema Library, Nigel Library, Springs Library, Tsakane Library, Wattville Library; and

(c)    At the following offices of Customer Care Area Managers in the Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality:

Alberton – Alwyn Taljaard Street, Alberton, Benoni – Elston Drive, Benoni, Boksburg – Cnr Trichardt & Market Street, Boksburg,  Brakpan –  2nd Floor, Room D 234, Cnr Escombe & Elliot Avenue, Brakpan, Daveyton – Cnr Eiselen & Mocke Street, Daveyton, Duduza  – 3001/12 Nala Street, Duduza, Edenvale –  Cnr Van Riebeeck & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Edenvale,  Etwatwa –  3724 23rd Street Etwatwa, Germiston – 15 Queen Street, Germiston, Katlehong – 2098 Masakhane Street, Admin Blok, Katlehong, Katlehong (2)- Cnr Sontonga & K146 Rd, Siluma View Ext 1,Katlehong , Kempton Park –  Cnr Pretoria & C.R. Swart Road, Kempton Park, Kwa-Thema –  24503 Nkosi Street, Kwa-Thema,, Nigel – 145  Hendrik Verwoerd Street, Nigel, Springs –  Cnr Plantation & South Main Reef Road, Springs, re: Tembisa – Cnr George Nyanga & Andrew Maphetha Street, Tembisa, Tembisa 2, Cnr Solomon and Mahlangu Drive,Winnie Mandela,  Thokoza – 3521 Moepshe Street, Thokoza, Tsakane – 10890 Nzima Street, Tsakane  and Vosloorus – Ostend Street, Vosloorus.

Notice 4-2017

10 March 2017

Dr I Mashazi, City Manager, Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, 2nd Floor, Head Office, Corner Cross and Roses Street, Germiston, 1400