Public Notices


In terms of the Municipal Systems Act, 2000, Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (EMM) hereby calls upon the members of public and all other stakeholders to participate in the process of drafting an Urban Design Policy for the EMM.

The proposed Ekurhuleni Urban Design Policy will apply to the entire area of the EMM and it will serve to provide guidance for the design of major developments within the City of Ekurhuleni and how such developments interact with the surrounding public environment.  In addition, an Ekurhuleni Urban Design Advisory Panel will also be established, to dispense advice towards application of the Ekurhuleni Urban Design Policy and implementation of urban design precinct plans.

Commenting period:

The Draft Ekurhuleni Urban Design Policy is open for inspection from 5 April 2017 until 5 May 2017.

Submission of comments:

Written comments and/or representations can be forwarded via e-mail to:, or alternatively, posted to the Ekurhuleni City Planning Department, at PO Box 13, Kempton Park, 1620, or hand delivered to any Ekurhuleni City Planning office or Customer Care Area office or City Planning Corporate Office, at 10 Margaret Avenue, Cnr. Margaret Avenue and Kempton Road, Kempton Park. The closing date for submission of comments and/or representations is 5 May 2017


Enquiries: Mr Martin Bekker (011) 999 4026 or


A copy of the proposed Draft Ekurhuleni Urban Design Policy may be inspected during ordinary office hours at the following municipal offices:

(a)    Any Ekurhuleni municipal library; or

(b)    At the following City Planning and Customer Care Area offices in the Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality:

Alberton – Alwyn Taljaard Street, Alberton, Benoni – Elston Avenue, Benoni, Boksburg – Cnr Trichardt & Commissioner Street, Boksburg,  Brakpan – Cnr Escombe & Elliot Street, Brakpan, Daveyton – Cnr Eiselen & Mocke Street, Daveyton, Duduza  – 3001/12 Nala Street, Duduza, Edenvale – Cnr Van Riebeeck & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Edenvale,  Etwatwa – 3724-23rd Street, Etwatwa, Germiston – 15 Queen Street, Germiston, Katlehong – 2098 Masakhane Street, Admin Blok, Katlehong, Katlehong (2)- Cnr Sontonga & K146 Rd, Siluma View Ext 1, Katlehong, Kempton Park –  Cnr Pretoria & C.R. Swart Road, Kempton Park, Kwa-Thema –  24503 Nkosi Street, Kwa-Thema, Nigel – 145  Hendrik Verwoerd Street, Nigel, Springs – Cnr Plantation & South Main Reef Road, Springs, Tembisa – Cnr George Nyanga & Andrew Maphetha Street, Tembisa, Tembisa 2, Cnr Solomon and Mahlangu Drive, Winnie Mandela,  Thokoza – 3521 Moepshe Street, Thokoza, Tsakane – 10890 Nzima Street, Tsakane  and Vosloorus – Ostend Street, Vosloorus; or

(c)    Alternatively an electronic copy can be downloaded EMM Draft Urban Design Policy 16 March 2017 Notice 12-2017


5 April 2017

Dr I Mashazi, City Manager, Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, 2nd Floor, Head Office, Corner Cross and Roses Street, Germiston, 1400