Public Notices

Notice 14-2019




NOTICE IS HEREWITH GIVEN in terms of the provisions of section 7 of the Gauteng Rationalisation of Local Government Affairs Act, 1998 (Act 10 of 1998), read with sections 11 and 12 of the Local Government Municipal Systems Act, 2000 (Act 32 of 2000), that the City of Ekurhuleni at a meeting held on 25 July 2019 under item A-CRM (01 – 2019), declared its intention to pass the City of Ekurhuleni Special Rating Area By-law and Policy.

  1. Any person who desires to comment on the proposed Special Rating Area By-law and Policy may lodge such comments in writing by not later than 21 October 2019 to The City Manager (attention: Office of the Divisional Head: Urban Management and Operations, City of Ekurhuleni, Customer Relations Management Department), Office 211 DEMS Building, 3 Hawley Road, Bedfordview; Private Bag X1069, Germiston, 1400.
  2. The proposed Special Rating Area By-law and Policy intend to  provide for the establishment of special rating areas; to provide for additional rates; to give effect to the provision of section 22 of the Municipal Property Rates Act 6 of 2004, read with sections 85 and 86 of the Municipal Systems Act 32 of 2000 which authorizes a municipality to pass a resolution by its Council to:        (a)determine an area within that municipality as a special rating area; (b)levy an additional rate on property in that area for the purpose of raising funds for improving or upgrading that area; and (c) to provide for all matters incidental thereto.
  3. Enquiries relating to the proposed Special Rating By-law and policy may be directed to: Goodness Nokulunga Nhlapho, Tel (011)999 0739, or e-mailed to
  4. A copy of the resolution by the City of Ekurhuleni Council and full particulars of the proposed  Special Rating Area By-law and Policy may be inspected during ordinary office hours (08:30 – 16:00) at the following municipal offices or by obtaining an electronic copy from the official website address for the Municipality:

(a)    Office of the Divisional Head: Urban Management and Operations, City of  Ekurhuleni, Customer Relations Management Department, Office 211 DEMS Building, 3 Hawley Road, Bedfordview;

(b)    The following Libraries:

Bedfordview Library, Birchleigh Library, Birchleigh North Library, Bonaero Park Library, Edenvale Library, Kempton Park Library, Olifantsfontein Library, Phomolong Library, Primrose Library, Tembisa Library, Tembisa West Library, Winnie Mandela Library, Alberton Library, Boksburg Library, Bracken Library, Dinwiddie Library, Edenpark Library, Elsburg Library, Germiston Library, Isaac Mokoena Library, Katlehong Library, Leondale Library, Palm Ridge Library, Reiger Park Library, Spruitview Library, Thokhoza Library, Vosloorus Library, Zonkizizwe Library, Actonville Library, Alra Park Library, Bakerton Library, Benoni Library, Brakpan Library, Daveyton Library, Duduza Library, Dunnotter Library, Geluksdal Library, H P Mokoka Library, Jerry Moloi Library, Kwa-Thema Library, Nigel Library, Springs Library, Tsakane Library, Wattville Library; and

(c)    At the following offices of Customer Care Area Managers in the City of Ekurhuleni:

Alberton – Alwyn Taljaard Street, Alberton, , Benoni – Elston Drive, Benoni, Boksburg – Cnr Trichardt & Market Street, Boksburg,  Brakpan –  2nd Floor, Room D 234, Cnr Escombe & Elliot Avenue, Brakpan, Daveyton – Cnr Eiselen & Mocke Street, Daveyton, Duduza  – 3001/12 Nala Street, Duduza, Edenvale –  Cnr Van Riebeeck & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Edenvale,  Etwatwa –  3724 23rd Street Etwatwa, Germiston – 15 Queen Street, Germiston, Katlehong – 2098 Masakhane Street, Admin Blok, Katlehong, Katlehong (2)- Cnr Sontonga & K146 Rd, Siluma View Ext 1,Katlehong , Kempton Park –  Cnr Pretoria & C.R. Swart Road, Kempton Park, Kwa-Thema –  24503 Nkosi Street, Kwa-Thema,, Nigel – 145  Hendrik Verwoerd Street, Nigel, Springs –  Cnr Plantation & South Main Reef Road, Springs, re: Tembisa – Cnr George Nyanga & Andrew Maphetha Street, Tembisa, Tembisa 2, Cnr Solomon and Mahlangu Drive,Winnie Mandela,  Thokoza – 3521 Moepshe Street, Thokoza, Tsakane – 10890 Nzima Street, Tsakana  and Vosloorus – Ostend Street, Vosloorus.

Dr. I Mashazi, City Manager, City of Ekurhuleni, 2nd Floor, Head Office Building, corner Cross and Rose Streets, Private Bag X1069, Germiston, 1400

18 September 2019

Notice No 14/2019