Public Notices

Public Notice 13-2018




NOTICE IS HEREWITH GIVEN in terms of the provisions of section 7 of the Gauteng Rationalisation of Local Government Affairs Act, 1998 (Act 10 of 1998), read with sections11 and 12 of the Local Government Municipal Systems Act, 2000 (Act 32 of 2000), that the City of Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (City) at a council meeting held on 26 July 2018under item A-EWM (03-2018),expressed its intention to pass the Draft Integrated Waste Management By-laws.

Any person who desires to comment on the draft Integrated Waste ManagementBy-laws may lodge such comments in writing by not later than 1st October 2018 to The City Manager (attention: Office of the Head of Department: Environmental Resource and Waste Management, City of Ekurhuleni; PO Box 215, Boksburg, 1460; or emailed to

Any person who cannot write may come during office hours to (Cnr Trichardt and Commissioner, Boksburg Civic Centre, HoD Office No. 518) where a staff member of the City will assist that person to transcribe that person’s comments or representations.

(ii)      The purpose of the draft Integrated Waste management By-laws is to provide for integrated waste management and matters incidentalthereto; to give effect to the environmental right in section 24 of the Constitution, by regulating the collection, storage, disposal, and other waste management activities within the jurisdictional area of City of Ekurhuleni; to provide, in conjunction with any other applicable law, an effective legal and administrative framework, within which the Municipality can manage and regulate waste management activities; to ensure that waste is avoided, or otherwise minimised, reused, recycled, and recovered, and that the remainder thereof is treated and disposed of in an environmental sound manner; to promote and ensure an effective delivery of waste service; and to ensure universal access to the municipal waste services.


(iii)     Enquiries relating to the Draft Integrated Waste Management By-laws may be directed to: Germina Chabalala, Tel (011)999 5130/2244, or e-mailed to

(iv)     A copy of the resolution and draft By-laws are available for publicinspection during ordinary office hours at the following municipal offices or by obtaining an electronic copy from the official website address for the City:

(a)    Office of the Head of Department: Environmental Resource and Waste Management, City of Ekurhuleni; Office No. 518, Cnr Trichardt and Commissioner, Boksburg Civic Centre

(b)    The following Libraries:

Bedfordview Library, Birchleigh Library, Birchleigh North Library, Bonaero Park Library, Edenvale Library, Kempton Park Library, Olifantsfontein Library, Phomolong Library, Primrose Library, Tembisa Library, Tembisa West Library, Winnie Mandela Library, Alberton Library, Boksburg Library, Bracken Library, Dinwiddie Library, Edenpark Library, Elsburg Library, Germiston Library, Isaac Mokoena Library, Katlehong Library, Leondale Library, Palm Ridge Library, Reiger Park Library, Spruitview Library, Thokhoza Library, Vosloorus Library, Zonkizizwe Library, Actonville Library, Alra Park Library, Bakerton Library, Benoni Library, Brakpan Library, Daveyton Library, Duduza Library, Dunnotter Library, Geluksdal Library, H P Mokoka Library, Jerry Moloi Library, Kwa-Thema Library, Nigel Library, Springs Library, Tsakane Library, Wattville Library; and

(c)    At the following offices of Customer Care Area Managers in the City of Ekurhuleni:

Alberton – Alwyn Taljaard Street, Alberton, , Benoni – Elston Drive, Benoni, Boksburg – Cnr Trichardt & Market Street, Boksburg,  Brakpan –  2nd Floor, Room D 234, Cnr Escombe & Elliot Avenue, Brakpan, Daveyton – Cnr Eiselen & Mocke Street, Daveyton, Duduza  – 3001/12 Nala Street, Duduza, Edenvale –  Cnr Van Riebeeck & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Edenvale,  Etwatwa –  3724 23rd Street Etwatwa, Germiston – 15 Queen Street, Germiston, Katlehong – 2098 Masakhane Street, Admin Blok, Katlehong, Katlehong (2)- Cnr Sontonga & K146 Rd, Siluma View Ext 1,Katlehong, Kempton Park –  Cnr Pretoria & C.R. Swart Road, Kempton Park, Kwa-Thema –  24503 Nkosi Street, Kwa-Thema,, Nigel – 145  Hendrik Verwoerd Street, Nigel, Springs –  Cnr Plantation & South Main Reef Road, Springs, re: Tembisa – Cnr George Nyanga & Andrew Maphetha Street, Tembisa, Tembisa 2, Cnr Solomon and Mahlangu Drive,Winnie Mandela,  Thokoza –3521 Moepshe Street, Thokoza, Tsakane –10890 Nzima Street, Tsakana  and Vosloorus – Ostend Street, Vosloorus.

Dr. I Mashazi, City Manager, City of Ekurhuleni, 2nd Floor, Head Office Building, corner Cross and Rose Streets, Private Bag X1069, Germiston, 1400


Notice No 13/2018