Communities Urged To Blow the Whistle on Non-Compliance

Environmental Health Practitioners (EHPs) are the first point of contact in ensuring that homes and workplaces are safe, hygienic and healthy places to live and work in.

As such, the City of Ekurhuleni assures residents that it has a dedicated team of men and women who are at the forefront of health related issues. Residents are therefore requested to blow the whistle on non-compliance by any health practitioner.

“Residents often see issues on non-compliance in their communities but do not know where to report such issues. We urge them to come forward and let the City know, so we can correct the wrongs,” said the MMC for Health and Social Services Cllr Nomadlozi Nkosi.

The MMC further stated that some of the things that are considered as non-compliant include, but not limited to:

  • Lack of hand sanitiser at public facilities
  • Selling of counterfeit food items
  • Unhygienic work environments
  • Non-adherence to social distancing at business premises / malls /places of worship etc.

While the world is still battling the global COVID-19 pandemic, all hands are on deck with the City’s EHPs conducting daily routine inspections to premises, which are monitored for compliance.

Each business owner must ensure compliance with COVID-19 regulations and guidelines.

In events where cases of non-compliance occur, the relevant EHP will investigate the matter and will take remedial action. Where major problems or risks are identified, the City’s Communicable Disease Outbreak Response team can be involved to provide support.

Below is the contact list where residents can report non-compliance:




Contact Numbers

Dudu Sebidi   

Regional Manager: EH

011 999 6431

Moffat Ramabulana

Acting Manager Sub-Region (Nigel/Duduza)

011 999 8200

Johan Koekemoer

Manager Sub-Region (Brakpan/Springs)

011 999 8754

Dorcus Modiba

Acting Manager Sub-Region (Daveyton/Etwatwa)

011 999 8148




Contact Numbers

Johan Kamffer

Regional Manager

011 999 1186

Francois van der Merwe

Manager Sub-Region (Alberton/Germiston)

011 999 0347

Phillip Campher

Manager Sub-Region (Boksburg/Vosloorus)

011 999 5244/6004

Imanuel Joemath

Manager Sub-Region (Thokoza/Katlehong)

011 999 2348






Contact Numbers

Estelle Nienaber        

Regional Manager

011 999 6458

Marie van den Berg

Manager Sub-Region (Kempton Park)

011 999 4670

Joseph Ramafoko

Manager Sub-Region (Thembisa)

011 999 4689

Bettie Damari

Manager Sub-Region (Edenvale/Benoni)

011 999 3335

Residents can also report non-compliance at their nearest Customer Care Centre.