Public Notice

A Call for Comments to the Access to Public Places by Law

The City of Ekurhuleni is calling on its stakeholders to comments on its draft bylaw on the Restriction of Access to the City’s Public Places.

The comments book was open on Monday 17 May and stakeholders have up until 17 June 2021 to make their final submissions.

This bylaw will enable the City to regulate the restriction of access to public places to ensure that the right to quality, freedom of movement, dignity and safety and security is balanced through planning procedures and various other security measures.

 The objective of the by-law is to:

  • provide procedures, processes and systems necessary to facilitate and regulate restriction of access applications and renewal applications;
  • to provide for appropriate measures to ensure that restrictions of access does not result in discriminating actions nor infringements on the rights of individuals;
  • to provide for penalties associated with non-compliance; and to provide for matters connected thereto.

The draft Restriction of Access by-law is available for perusal at the City Planning Area Manager’s offices located in the following municipal offices from Monday to Friday between 08h00-16h30)

Alberton: 11th Floor, Alberton Civic Centre, Alwyn Taljaard Street, new Redruth.

Benoni: 6th Floor, Benoni Civic Centre, Treasury building, Elston Avenue.

 Boksburg: 3rd Floor, Boksburg Civic Centre, Cnr Trichard Road and Commissioner Street.

Brakpan: E-Block (Room E212), Brakpan Civic Centre, Cnr Ellior Road and Escombe Avenue.

Edenvale: 1st Floor, Edenvale Civic Centre, Cnr Van Riebeeck Avenue and Hendrik Potgieter Street.

Germiston: 175 Meyer Street, Cnr Meyer and Library Streets, United House Building, 1st Floor.

Kempton Park: 5th Floor, Main Building, Kempton Park Civic Centre, Cnr CR Swart and Pretoria Road.

Nigel: Ground Floor, City Planning Reception, Engineers Building, Cnr Eeufees and Hendrik Verwoerd Streets.

Springs: 4th Floor, F-Block, Springs Civic Centre, Cnr Plantation and Main Reef Roads.

It can also be viewed at the following libraries with the City:

Bedfordview Library, Birchleigh Library, Birchleigh North Library, Bonaero Park Library, Edenvale Library, Kempton Park Library, Olifantsfontein Library, Phomolong Library, Primrose Library, Tembisa Library, Tembisa West Library, Winnie Mandela Library, Alberton Library, Boksburg Library, Bracken Library, Dinwiddie Library, Edenpark Library, Elsburg Library, Germiston Library, Isaac Mokoena Library, Katlehong Library, Leondale Library, Palm Ridge Library, Reiger Park Library, Spruitview Library, Thokhoza Library, Vosloorus Library, Zonkizizwe Library, Actonville Library, Alra Park Library, Bakerton Library, Benoni Library, Brakpan Library, Daveyton Library, Duduza Library, Dunnotter Library, Geluksdal Library, H P Mokoka Library, Jerry Moloi Library, Kwa-Thema Library, Nigel Library, Springs Library, Tsakani Library, Wattville Library.

Written comments and representations can be lodged with or made in writing to: